OpenRice Index
  
crabbites
This is crabbites living in Tanjung Duren. I am a Professional, work in Daan Mogot. I like to hang out in Puri Indah, Tanjung Duren, Karawaci. Sunda, Chinese, Multinasional, Japanese Food are my favorite cuisines. I also love Street Foods, Roti & Kue, Kafe, Al fresco Resto and Siomay / Batagor, Es Krim/Yogurt, Ribs.
Member 151 First(s)
No. of Review254 Review(s)
編輯推介數目29 Editor's Choice
Recommended22 Recommended
Popularity5781 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos770 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant87 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲426 Follower(s)
crabbites  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 254 Reviews in Indonesia
oenpao, asian food Smile Jan 12, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Bakmi/Kwetiau | Dim Sum | Kumpul Keluarga

New Year countdown at Benton Junction, Lippo Village Well, why not It's a cool hang-out joint around with many hippest restos and buzzling night market. Not to mention the live music performance to kiss goodbye to the last day of year 2011 and to welcome the first day of 2012. However I didn't feel like dining at one of the restos there so off I strolled towards Coco Walk, Supermal Karawaci. And I ended up at Oenpao.

FOOD
It's pretty obvious from the resto name that the best dish to order is the pao (steamed bun) though the resto actually has dimsum as their signature dish. Whatever!!! I will try both.
hakau 15k

hakau 15k

 
Hakau/Boiled Shrimp Dumpling (15k/3 pieces) - YUM YUM YUM
The boiled dimsum lived up to its hype, and were soft and delicious. This was definitely the standout item for me. The hakau had just the right proportions of skin to shrimp. Delightfully delicate and chewy wrappers stuffed with juicy, flavorful shrimp. RECOMMENDED!

The Paos (Steamed Bun) - YUM YUM
Who can resist this small steamed buns It came in different selection of fillings, from the savory to sweet ones. As always, I opted for the savory ones.
seafood fried noodle

seafood fried noodle

 
Seafood Fried Noodle - YUM YUM YUM
Noodles were fresh and of a chewy consistency, which I thought were pretty fun to eat. The noodles were cut into chewable size so I didn't have to feel like I was pulling foreeeeeeeeeever to put them into my mouth. You know sometimes the loooooooong
noodles were kinda difficult to eat.
seafood char kweeteow

seafood char kweeteow

 
Seafood Char Kweeteow - YUM
Not too wet and not too dry with an ample amount of marinated chicken chunks, shrimps, squids, slices of fishcakes, beansprouts and veggies. Texture was good, but execution was lack in flavor. ALAS! Bear in mind, this is a halal, hence no lard nor waxed sausages (lap cheong).
congee

congee

 

Congee - YUM YUM
It came in spicy and plain, and I preferred the plain one. This is the food for the health conscious if you do mind the cholesterol inducing oil.

ATMOSPHERE
The atmosphere is stylish. However Oenpao is not particularly spacious, so don't come here with a group more than 10 and expect to sit together. The venue is a bit of a hole in the wall, especially the inner wing - rows of seating on one side and rows of kitchen area at the other side. But it is well kept and clean. You can opt for the inner wing with sofa seating or outer wing with the casual wooden chair seating.
oenpao, cocowalk

oenpao, cocowalk

 
oenpao, cocowalk

oenpao, cocowalk

 
SERVICE
The staffs were friendly and attentive. However I found the service was a bit slow. Maybe they need to serve everything fresh and I put in quite a variety of orders.

P.S. For the price, it's really worth it. Good bang for the rupiah.
P.P.S. Good Chinese comfort food and considering there's not a lot of places in the mall that serves dimsum with all its juices intact ( I mean the real fresh dimsum, not the typical ones available at the supermarket), it's worth to come here to satiate your cravings.
P.P.P.S. You got a bonus of live perfomance from the stage nearby. And hey! They played a number of evergreen slow-rock hits. BRAVO!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  dimsum
 
Date of Visit: Dec 31, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp50,000(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 4  |  
Pelayanan
 3  |  
Higienis
 4  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

soto damai: jakarta street food Smile Dec 08, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Street Foods | Soto/Rawon

Food stalls on the streets of Jakarta can look a little intimidating to foreigners, but they provide convenient, delicious and cheap meals to the locals. Wherever you go in the city, these food stalls are plentiful. Knowing what's what is essential when eating from food stalls. You can figure out what kind of food a particular stall is selling by observing the ingredients in the glass display window and the way they're being prepared. And in Soto Damai case, a glance at the stall will give you the hints since they set a huge menu banner on the side of the stall which serves as sun-shades as well tongue
soto damai

soto damai

 
LOCATION
When you scout along Damai street where the Indosiar TV station is located, chances are you won't miss the stall since it occupies the pedway along the parking lot of the TV station. As any street food stalls in Jakarta, the stall is a simple tent with a long table and 2 long benches to accommodate the patrons.

SERVICE
Since the seating is limited, it'll be a bit tricky to find a seat at lunch hour. And I think today is my lucky day since the stall is almost half empty. Upon entering, I was seated right away and the waiter was pretty much wait on me. The service was prompt and nice.

FOOD
soto betawi 17,5k

soto betawi 17,5k

 
I got a Soto Betawi entree. Now that I had a bowl of soto before me, I could start eating right away or added the condiments to spice it up a little. The condiments aka the 'four flavors' are sweet soya sauce, salt, lime and hot chili sauce. Plus vegetable pickles as a compliment. It was my time to be a little experimental. However I had to remember to taste the food before 'four flavoring' it.

The dish is always served with rice topped with fried shallots. Unlike the slightly thick broth used in common soto, the Betawi version uses coconut milk as its thickening agent, making the broth white and paler than usual soto. To cut down the richness of the broth, slices of potato, tomato and scallions are added. I got big chunks of beef which blend perfectly with fried potato, tomato, and the crunchy emping (gnetum gnemon crackers). And I ordered tempe bacem (sweet marinated tempeh) as side dish. This and the tempe bacem really put me into bliss.

BOTTOM LINE
The portion was nice, the food was great, the prices were good, and the service was nice and friendly. No tax on food. Worth a try! Happy eating!!!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  soto daging
 
Date of Visit: Dec 05, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp30,000(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 3  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 3  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

ayam bunda: affordable diner Smile Dec 02, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Kumpul Keluarga

You're hungry. You don't feel like spending a ton of cash but want something GOOD. You don't want Indonesian food but you really don't want to travel far from the hood. No worries... go to Ayam Bunda diner.
lippo village, ayam bunda

lippo village, ayam bunda

 
LOCATION & AMBIENCE
The diner is kinda tucked away in rows of shop houses at New Asia Cluster, west residential area of Lippo Village, in the vicinity of Permata Sports Club. Once inside, it feels inviting. Nothing too fancy. Super casual. There are just 3 simple seating for dine-in patrons in the inner wing and another 4 in the outer wing of the diner. If dining in, you can grab a menu and sit anywhere you like, and the waiter will pretty much wait on you. This establishment is quite popular now, either for dine-in or take-out patrons.

FOOD
They have a variety of dishes that are moderately priced, so you can get a variety. I tried the crispy mendoan tempeh and Siomay (Bandungese steamed dumplings) as some starters.
crispy mendoan tempeh 5k

crispy mendoan tempeh 5k

 
Mendoan Tempeh/Tempeh fried in Batter 5k (4 pieces)
The tempeh was excellent. It arrived hot and fresh moments after I was seated. The tempeh was deep fried quickly, so the inside retained some of its moistness. I like to eat them dipped into a mixture of sweet soy sauce and ground chillies. YUM!!!
steamed dumplings 10k, coconut drink 10k

steamed dumplings 10k, coconut drink 10k

 
Siomay 10k (5 pieces)
You gotta pick 5 pieces from a few range of options: steamed tofu, fried tofu, egg siomay, plain siomay, stuffed bitter gourd, steamed potato or steamed cabbage. All were cut into bite size pieces and topped with peanut sauce, sweet soy sauce and a dash of lime juice.

For entree, I had soto ayam 10k.
clear chicken soup 10k

clear chicken soup 10k

 
The chicken noodles in yellowish transparent broth came with a portion of steamed rice wrapped inside banana leaves. The noodles were snappy and housed scattered slices of seasoned chicken and vermicelli that were buried under an aromatic mix of fried shallot, garlic, turmeric, ginger, galangal, coriander, salt and pepper.
However don't forget to save room for the fresh coconut drink, right from the shell.

BOTTOM LINE:
Nice place for a comforting, home-style meal. Prices very cheap-honestly. Great value. Wonderful food. No tax on food, nor drinks.
Will frequent this diner a lot. Thanks, Ayam Bunda.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp20,000(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 3  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 3  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Classic Cake and Bakery  Smile Sep 27, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Roti & Kue

I'm a huge fan of cakes and breads... and this bread shop is my savior in the area. Whenever I crave for homemade cakes and breads, off I stroll to this simple bread shop. It offers good quality products at affordable prices.

DIRECTION:
Don't expect a fancy shop as those typical bread houses at cozy shopping center we're so familiar with because it's not. Venesia is merely a small shop tucked among rows of shop house at Villa Permata, a few meter from the Tantra Atisa Dipamkara Monastery. From the monastery, you'll reach a roundabout. Just drive slowly down the lane and you'll see rows of shop house on your left. Enter the first entrance to the parking lot and there it is... the reddish Venesia Cake and Bakery signature sign. The place is decently clean for a smaller, old school place.

BREADS AND CAKES:
Pizza Bun (5K): this is one hearty bun. It's a generous serving with plenty of cheddar, sausages and mayo topping.
Raisin Bun (4K): the bun texture is soft and they're very generous with the raisin.
Cheese Puff (5K): my personal fave. A soft cream cheese filling wrapped in fluffy bun and iced with grated cheddar and parmesan cheese topping.
Beef Floss Bun (5K)

Besides the bread and cakes, the shop provides assorted snacks at Rp. 2,700 per piece. Rissole, croquette, lemper, vegetable puff stored in proofing hot cabinet, so you can enjoy the snacks fresh and warm.

PRICE:
Approximately 5K for breads and 2.7K for snacks. I consider it a treat. Worth a try.
Bakery

Bakery

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  cheese puff
 
Date of Visit: Sep 24, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp15,000

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 3  |  
Pelayanan
 3  |  
Higienis
 3  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

medan kopitiam Smile Sep 06, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kedai Kopi & Teh | Bakmi/Kwetiau | Kumpul Keluarga

Han Tiam, a kopitiam in Gading Serpong residential specializing in Medanese and Siantarese delights. Located at Serenade Shophouse between Pertamina gas station and Serenade Lake residential cluster, it's easy to spot this kopitiam. Upon entering the kopitiam, you'll be taken back in time. Framed old-fashioned ad campaigns and antique plates hung down the wall give the impression of enjoying meals in grandma's house. You can opt to enjoy your meal at lower level or upper level, but keep in mind that lower level area is for non-smokers, as upper level is a smoking area.

Since it's a Medanese kopitiam, Cap Badak Sarsaparilla drink (9K) is a must. A bit different from AW Root Beer that we're familiar with, Sarsaparilla Cap Badak is somehow rather lighter.

For food, I order:
bowl Han Char Kwee Teow (26.5K): fried kwee teow with prawns, fish cakes, chicken chunks, lap cheong (Chinese sausage), bean sprout, kucai, mustard greens, garnished with slices of cucumber and tomato. The dish is served upon banana leaf which adds flavor to the dish.
bowl BBQ Pork Hainanese Rice (35.5K): two thumbs up for the BBQ Pork. It's well marinated, crunchy, yet moist enough for my liking.
bowl Han Gravy Kwee Teow (15K): gravy kwee teow with marinated chicken, char siew (BBQ pork), pickled egg, mustard greens, sprinkled with leeks and a bowl of boiling soup.
bowl Water Spinach Noodle (18.5K)

For dessert, sticky rice balls with durian-coconut cream will do. Spoon some of the durian and coconut cream sauce over the sticky rice balls and that's it. However the rice balls are too soft and not glutinous enough. Add a bit salt will add the crunchiness and the durian cream can use a bit sugar to bring out the flavor.

Overall the food is quite value for money. Bon appetit.
Han Tiam Kedai Kopi

Han Tiam Kedai Kopi

 
Han Char Kwee Teow 26.5K

Han Char Kwee Teow 26.5K

 
BBQ Pork Hainanese Rice 35.5K

BBQ Pork Hainanese Rice 35.5K

 
Han Kwee Teow 15K

Han Kwee Teow 15K

 
Sticky Rice Balls w/ Durian Sauce 13.5K

Sticky Rice Balls w/ Durian Sauce 13.5K

 
Water Spinach Noodle 18.5K

Water Spinach Noodle 18.5K

 
Cap Badak 9K n Ice Lemon Tea 9K

Cap Badak 9K n Ice Lemon Tea 9K

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  bbq pork hainanese rice, han char kwee teow
 
Date of Visit: Sep 01, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp30,000(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 4  |  
Pelayanan
 3  |  
Higienis
 3  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   2 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0