OpenRice Index
  
crabbites
This is crabbites living in Tanjung Duren. I am a Professional, work in Daan Mogot. I like to hang out in Puri Indah, Tanjung Duren, Karawaci. Sunda, Chinese, Multinasional, Japanese Food are my favorite cuisines. I also love Street Foods, Roti & Kue, Kafe, Al fresco Resto and Siomay / Batagor, Es Krim/Yogurt, Ribs.
Member 151 First(s)
No. of Review254 Review(s)
編輯推介數目29 Editor's Choice
Recommended22 Recommended
Popularity5784 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos770 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant87 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲426 Follower(s)
crabbites  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 254 Reviews in Indonesia
peranakan cuisine Smile Oct 03, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Kencan / Berpasangan | Kumpul Keluarga

After reading some of other reviews on this Peranakan cuisine eatery, I decided to give it a try. I was in the vicinity of Teras Kota anyway and it was lunch time, so Aunty Li Kopitiam it is. Launched in 2009 at Bumi Serpong Damai, Teras Kota serves as a prominent lifestyle and entertainment center in the area. Ground Level is dedicated to gastronomy relish and houses a group of chic eateries and cafes. First Level for book-store, beauty saloon, and fitness center with Gramedia Bookstore and Celebrity Fitness as the main anchors, and last but not least... the Second Level for entertainment area as Blitz Megaplex is opening 9 cinemas' door to ease the movie freaks' hunger for great movies.

To cut to the chase, let's go to the Ground Level... the dining area. Actually there are 2 kopitiams there, Lau's Kopitiam and Aunty Li Kopitiam. Since I have been a regular at Lau's Kopitiam Chain and I wanted to try something different, I decided to go to the latter.

DIRECTION AND AMBIANCE
Actually the kopitiam is not located inside Teraskota Main Building, it adjoins Santika Hotel to be precise. Upon arrival at Teras Kota main entrance, just forward towards the back exit and walk pass the outdoor plaza... taaa-daaa... there it is, Aunty Li Kopitiam. The place is petit, but they put a few tables outside... facing the plaza. Guess it's meant for smoking area. Inside, the kopitiam has been given a Peranakan-style decor. A feature of Peranakan (Straits Chinese) culture is a love of colorful mixes and colonial style, and it shows on the use of traditional tile designs and colonial light fittings. Dark brown traditional pane and furniture, combined with bright red wall paint... it gives you a glimpse to the past.
Aunty Li Kopitiam

Aunty Li Kopitiam

 
The kopitiam is a small home cooked Nyonya food restaurant, originated from Singkep Island, an island which is a part of Lingga Archipelago under Riau Islands administration, and its signature dish is Nasi Dagang.
FOOD
bowl Nasi Dagang Kecil / Nasi Dagang in small portion (9K). A bowlful of rice in the middle of the plate, surrounded by fried anchovy and peanuts, half slice of boiled egg with chili paste topping. Two thumbs up for the anchovy, which is specially delivered from Singkep Island to preserve the original taste. Its not too salty as most Sumatran anchovy does. And the rice really stands out. Richly seasoned with numerous spices, the rice will leave cinnamon flavor lingering on your palate at each scoop. For heavy eater, you can opt for Nasi Dagang Special (22K). It comes in bigger portion with beef or fried chicken added, along with traditional tapioca chips and slices of cucumber.
nasi dagang kecil 9k

nasi dagang kecil 9k

 
bowl Lontong Melayu Spesial / Malay Rice Cake in Coconut Milk (18K). The spicy vegetable soup is lip smacking and is served along with the compressed rice cake. Young jackfruit, fried anchovies and peanuts, half slice of boiled egg and rice cake sprinkled with coconut milk and garnished with fried shallot and tapioca chips.
malay rice cake 18k

malay rice cake 18k

 
bowl Es Cincau Selasih / Green Grass Jelly and Sweet Basil Seed (12K). The green grass jelly is cut into pieces and mixed with red syrup to produce a refreshing drink, sprinkled with dried sweet basil seed. Great to cool you off on a hot sunny day.
green grass jelly with sweet basil seed 12k

green grass jelly with sweet basil seed 12k

 

VERDICT
So my verdict is:
Nasi Dagang is a must-try, one of a kind dish from Singkep Island. And the price is reasonable as well. The anchovy is crunchy and yummy. If you want to get out of your comfort zone and try something new, you have come to the right place.
No tax and service charges added on food. Bon appetit!!!



 
Recommended Dish(es):  nasi dagang
 
Date of Visit: Oct 01, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp30,000(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 4  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 4  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

savory fishcake OK Sep 30, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Palembang | Pempek

A delicacy from Palembang, South Sumatera, pempek or mpek-mpek or empek-empek is a popular dish in Jakarta. You can find the restos/stalls everywhere you go... and I happen to step my feet at Pempek KK today. Located at Kali Sekretaris, near Indosiar TV Station Compound, it's just around the corner from my office.

LOCATION
The small eatery is tucked amongst the row of old shop houses on Kali Sekretaris Street, a few meters from Subur Oto Garage Workshop and BCA Taman Ratu. Judging from the street name alone, you may expect a treat of river view as you dine-in here tongue It's not a comfy air-conditioned shop, however the huge ventilation fan really helps to cool off the room on a dry sunny day as today. What I like about this place is it serves as a nice quiet place to have a long chat with friends. Customers roll in and out but never get too packed.
Pempek Palembang KK

Pempek Palembang KK

 
SERVICE
The waitress came pretty quick and we put in our orders right away. Drinks were served in no time and she rushed away to deep-fry our pempek. Very efficient.

FOOD
Made of fish and tapioca, pempek is served with spicy sweet and sour vinegar sauce and sprinkled with chopped cucumber and dried shrimp powder. I think the secret to delicious pempek lies in the vinegar sauce as the pempek dough is mildly savory... and today the sauce is extra hot... matches the hot sunny day tongue
bowl Pempek Kapal Selam / Submarine Pempek (10K). Made from a chicken egg wrapped within the pempek dough and deep-fried, Submarine Pempek is one of my favorite. The name derived from the shape which resembles a submarine. Definitely not made of belida but tenggiri, yet I find it acceptable considering the affordable price.
Kapal Selam 10K, Kulit 5K

Kapal Selam 10K, Kulit 5K

 
bowl Pempek Kulit / Fish-Skin Pempek (5K). The dough is mixed with minced fish skin which gives it darker color and stronger fishy smell. The taste is OK, though not memorable nor impressive.

OVERALL IMPRESSION
The menu is basic, straightforward and well executed for quick service. You can consider this eatery as a change if you don't feel like having rice for your lunch.... or merely to grab a light snack.
No charge on tax, nor service. Bon appetit!!!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  kapal selam
 
Date of Visit: Sep 30, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp20,000(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 3  |  
Lingkungan
 3  |  
Pelayanan
 3  |  
Higienis
 3  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

qq kopitiam Smile Sep 28, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singapura / Malaysia | Kopitiam | Kumpul Keluarga

Kopitiam... literally means coffee shop (coffee in Malay and shop in Hokkien)... is a place for common folks to eat and drink or just chit-chat about the latest news. It's found all over Singapore, Malaysia and Indonesia, especially North Sumatera. Selling old style local breakfast (half boiled eggs, kaya toast with coffee or tea), the kopitiam offers that kind of warm and homely atmosphere... the atmosphere that's adopted by QQ Kopitiam.

AMBIANCE
Taking full advantage of its position... the corner store at Level 2 Supermal Karawaci... QQ Kopitiam features a charming street-life theme with traffic lights, lamp posts and street signs. It even uses license plates as table number stands. Brilliant!!! I spot old-fashioned sliding door installed at certain corner, which reminds me of my granny's house. A cozy corner in the morning, warm corner at night, the kopitiam brings the great outdoors to the cool indoors.
QQ kopitiam

QQ kopitiam

 
SERVICE
All waiter and waitress are quick and brisk in black polo tees with huge 99 number printed at their back. 99 stands for QQ in Hokkien. Yet they don't add service charge to your bill. Way to go!!!

FOOD
Since it's a kopitiam, ordering kaya toast is must, so I put in a few orders:
chopstick Kaya and Butter Toast (15K). I get a generous amount of kaya and butter. However the toast is too crunchy and it crumbles with every bite, leaving a mess on the table.
kaya n butter toast 15k

kaya n butter toast 15k

 
chopstick Beef Floss Toast (15K). I prefer my kaya toast to beef floss toast. Nothing special on the taste, and I still find the toast is too crunchy.

chopstick Mie Sop Baso Ayam Special / Chicken Meatballs and Noodle Soup (15K). Mie sop is a local dish from Medan, North Sumatera. A bowl of noodle with rich broth. The taste resembles its origin street food taste. Recommended!!!
mie sop baso ayam spec 15k

mie sop baso ayam spec 15k

 
chopstick Teh Manis Peng / Sweet Ice Tea (6K). It feels like sipping honey from Winnie The Pooh's honey pot since the glass looks like The Pooh's honey pot.

OVERALL IMPRESSION
A cool place to simply grab something to eat at affordable price.
No service charge, nor tax on food. Bon appetit!!!
teh manis peng 6k

teh manis peng 6k

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  mie sop
 
Date of Visit: Sep 27, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp25,000

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 4  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 4  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

buzzling foodcourt Smile Sep 04, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Kumpul Keluarga

If you're looking for a traditional yummy buzzling foodcourt, then Pluit Sakti Foodcourt is the place. Dubbed as Medanese eateries, the foodcourt offers a wide range of Medan street foods, from char kwee tiaw to duck noodle, from rice dumpling to rice cake, you name it and you got it smile It's fair to say that it serves as a showcase for popular Medanese food. Been one of my all-time favorite eatery since uni time, this place has certain charm that keeps me coming back.

The food court is open all day. However the place is quite laid back by daytime, with just a few hawker stalls open their door to customers. But as the sun goes down, the place will come alive with CD stalls crank up K-pop and Mandopop songs and folks start swarming numerous eateries there. By this time, finding a parking space may be a bit tricky.

As any local street stalls, don't expect a cozy cool eatery here cos it's not. The place is hot, a bit sloppy and cramped with tables and benches. Definitely not a cozy place to hang-out and spend times with friends and family. Not to mention queue of people at your back intimidating you to leave your seat as soon as you finish your eating business. However the delicious food make up for all those hassles.

My family and I order a whole bunch of food:
chopstick A Kok's Gravy Kwee Teow (28K): A Kok's stall is one of the pioneer stall in the area. He's famous for his Char Kwee Teow and it's truly yummy with generous fish cakes, prawns, char siew (Chinese barbecued pork) and scramble duck egg which will cost your more than if you can opt for ordinary chicken egg. Today I decide to skip the Char Kwee Teow and go for Gravy Kwee Teow instead... and it's as yummy as always.

chopstick Egg Pancake with Curry (26K): rectangular egg pancake served with a bowl of curry. You can opt for merely gravy curry or chicken/lamb curry. Extra long queue for the dish to the point that you have to wait at the stall for your food or it'll be swept away by other customers. Don't expect them to serve it at your table.

chopstick Char Siew Fan (28K): BBQ Pork Rice which comes with a bowl of boiling chicken broth with spring onions.

chopstick Lapchoi (26K): fried prawn crepes, fried tofu, spinach with sweet and sour thick sauce. If you prefer spicy dish, you can add green spicy chilly into the sauce. A famous Medanese snack also known as Tau-kwa He-chi.

chopstick Nasi Rames/ Mixed Platter with Rice (26K): A platter with rice in the center and a various selection of meat, egg and vegetable dishes. Another popular demand dish at the foodcourt that you'll have to grab the food by yourself at the stall.

chopstick 1 Medanese Ice Mix, 2 Ice Lime Tea and 1 Ice Tea for a total of 41K.

Pay per go and no service charge or tax on food. Isn't it great? Bon appetit smile

Kwetiau Siram (Gravy Kwee Teow), 28K

Kwetiau Siram (Gravy Kwee Teow), 28K

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  nasi rames
 
Date of Visit: Sep 02, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp40,000(Night Snack)

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 2  |  
Pelayanan
 2  |  
Higienis
 2  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

waroeng kopikoe Smile Dec 20, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Halal | Kumpul Keluarga

So there I was, furiously shopping at Central Park Mall, two weeks before Christmas, dodging tourists, children, strollers. I didn't plan on getting any food, but after a few hours of shopping, I was going to pass out if I don't eat something.

I was browsing the stores, and saw Waroeng Kopikoe at Level 3. Indonesian food at Central Park Mall? Das cool.

Anywho, enough contextual story, on the food!
THE FOOD HERE IS LIP SMACKING FINGER LICKING AND NO SHARING TYPE OF GOOD!!!

What should you get here? 
I ordered the following items:

SOTO MIE (NOODLE SOUP) IDR 29,000
It was a hearty soup with some spiciness. The soup was yellow in colour because turmeric was added as one of the ingredients. Tendons and cartilage in the soup appeared to be slow cooked, the noodles were thin and overcooked. The ingredients in the soup was too plentiful for me to finish the noodles before it became soggy.

 
Before I could finish the soup, the server came over to present me with my dessert:
PISANG BAKAR KEJU (GRILLED PLANTAIN TOPPED WITH CHEESE) IDR 27,000
Plantain and cheese together for dessert? Why not? It's one of my favorite dessert indeed. The plantain was smooth and not overly sweet. Perfectly grilled till they were caramalized. And Waroeng Kopikoe was very generous with the cheese topping. YUM!

 

ATMOSPHERE
What is it like inside?
The interior is very cute in a home-y kind of way, and it seemed like a good place for lunch with friends and family. I went there on weekday and there were just a couple other people there. Once you step into this place, you will feel it's your ordinary eating place in a mall, with several wooden tables and chairs, but look further... they do have INDOOR SEATINGS as well as OUTDOOR SEATINGS. Cool! 
central park, waroeng kopikoe

central park, waroeng kopikoe

 
outdoor seatings

outdoor seatings

 
I really like the idea of an outdoor lunch. It feels like eating in a park.

So what sets Waroeng Kopikoe apart?
This eatery allows you to create your tasting menu through a combination of small plates, large entrees and dessert.

Pros/Cons:
Very friendly staff and service.
Delicious food, but the portions are a little small for the price you pay.
Very quiet and cozy atmosphere, which I really enjoyed. Easy to have conversations with the people you come with.
Huge parking space in the area at weekdays.
It wasn't too busy when I came but I imagine it could get a little cramped if gets busy.

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 15, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp50000(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 2  |  
Lingkungan
 3  |  
Pelayanan
 2  |  
Higienis
 2  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0