OpenRice Index
  
Urban Culinaire
This is Urban Culinaire .
Member 5 First(s)
No. of Review8 Review(s)
編輯推介數目5 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity71 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos92 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲11 Follower(s)
Urban Culinaire  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 8 Reviews in Indonesia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Jepang | Restaurant | Ramen

 


こんにちは! お元気ですか? On 29 March 2015 i was invited to Openrice Gathering at Ippudo, Pacific Place (5th floor). Maybe some of us already Ippudo and they already opened here since last year. They have more than 80 stores in Japan and more than 40 stores worldwide including London, New York, Sydney, Hong Kong, China, Philippines and Indonesia. Before i go further for the meetup detail, let's talk about the history & background of this successful ramen restaurant. Ippudo was founded in 1985 by Ramen King Shigemi Kawahara in Fukuoka city. Ippudo litteraly means "one wind hall" because at the time, there were dark clouds over the Kyushu ramen industry, this is the symbolic for the restaurant "blow wind and revolutionizing the ramen era at that time". Why he being called as King Ramen? He was titled as the ramen king because of his three consecutive winnings for first place on a ramen-making Japanese television show. He continuously innovates the way of ramen like creating Hakata-style tonkotsu (pork-based) ramen, which has their signature creamy broth and now IPPUDO very well known in a global scale. This is why no wonder people willing to queue up for a long time in every Ippudo branches.

 


As the first Ippudo outlet, the size of the resto quite spacious. Ippudo really maintain their concept interior design of the resto for all their stores such bowls hanging on the wall, black wall, and wooden tables. There are huge chandeliers in the resto, giving high class value yet classy. For service very responsive and informative.

 


In this gathering, i was introduced to Ibu Amanda as Marketing Manager and Mr. Miyazaki. The purpose of this meetup is Ippudo will releasing their 3 new ramen menu and seasonal chef spesial menu. As we can see above photo, they talked lil about their new ramen. They introduced new ramen like: Akamaru Kakuni, Shiromaru Kakuni and Karaka Kakuni. For seasonal chef special they introduced: Deep-fried Squid with Nori, Hot Potato Salad & Kushi Katsu. Ibu Amanda also teached us how to enjoy ramen and the japanese called it 'zuzutto' (sound of slurp while we enjoy noodle). There are 3 steps to enjoy ramen: sip, slurp and top. Looks very interesting isn't it? Here we go for the full review for foods!

 


First they introduced the seasonal chef menu before we go for ramen:

 


Deep-Fried Squid with Nori
- Deep-fried squid served with a cut of lemon and mayonnaise. Quite crispy and very chewy while we eat it. It tasted good and not too oily. Unfortunately the nori not so dominant and losing as the main key of this menu.

 


Hot Potato Salad
- It covered with melted cheese and tobiko on top while they put broccoli inside. Honestly it's really healthy food because the broccoli really winning this salad. Broccoli is a very healthy and can prevent cancer. Overall, enjoyable!

 


Kushi Katsu
- Crispy pork katsu which i can't deny to say this one really good. For the outer part with perfect crispiness level and the texture inside quite soft yet savory. Plus the sauce boost our appetite even more! Yummy!

FYI, for ramen we can choose 3 types of ramen: soft, normal and Hard.

 


Shiromaru Kakuni
- Premium pork belly served with original broth, bean sprouts, spring onions and tauge. Kakuni really soft & juicy and the soup taste very delicious. Perfect seasoning on the pork belly. Really recommended menu.

 


Akamaru Kakuni
- It actually almost the same as Shiromaru Kakuni but the difference is that using miso sauce and served with red bowl. This is the reason why it called Akamaru which mean red bowl. The color of the soup not as white as shiromaru. The taste just light and mild. Quite good smile

 


 


Karaka Kakuni
- From the appearance already looks so red, this one is the spicy version of ramen. Maybe for japanese they can call it hot and spicy but for Indonesian still plain not amd not hot enough. The taste still good with lil savory but not hot enough!

Overall, i have to admit Ippudo is one of the best ramen restaurant by offering good food, ambience and service. Thank you Bu Amanda and Mr Miyazaki for Ippudo team and not to forget the Openrice team ( Viona & Yenny) for welcoming us and make this gathering meetup to happen.

Oh yeah, all the best to Yenny because it's your last gathering as Openrice team and welcome to foodies! smile

Craved!

Urban Culinaire
IG: @urban_culinaire
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Akamaru Kakuni
 
Date of Visit: Mar 29, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp150000

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 4  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 4  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Volcano Ramen with Osaka style! OK Apr 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Jepang | Restaurant | Ramen | Halal | Kumpul Keluarga

Nowadays, restaurants in Jakarta developing rapidly so fast but some come and go so quickly too. Pantai Indah Kapuk is one of the hippiest place with plenty choices of food, we can say food paradise. Right now Pantai Indah Kapuk trending with desserts but i can say 'ramen' quite competitive too. There are some ramen resto opened at PIK and Kazan Ramen also one of them. If not mistaken, Kazan Ramen already opened since last year with name Kazan Ramen Express located at Lotte Shopping Avenue food court but they moved for good to Pantai Indah Kapuk. Kazan Ramen located at Ruko Cordoba, near Pong very easy to find. Kazan literally means 'volcano', weird huh? Kazan Ramen represent their ramen as Osaka ramen. We will explain detail below.

 


The interior of Kazan Ramen represent slightly like any other common ramen shop at Japan. Lil bit touch of wooden furniture and red color for the table makes it more Japanese resto somehow. J-pop music played along in the resto too, but i'm not a big fan of it. Divided into 2 floors which on the second floor much spacious than the first floor because they have the open kitchen on the first floor. On that day we guided to second floor for the food tasting which make us even more private for taking photos and others. For the hospitality they are really friendly, informative for the F&B and responsive, keep maintain this kind of service. Great ambience and homey by putting some of japanese ornaments in it.

 


Why volcano? This resto brings us unique ramen eating experience by resembling the ramen as volcano. The cooking process and the presentation of the ramen they served quite different with any other ramen resto. They are using hot stone as the bowl i/o ceramic bowls usually we use. They heated the hot stone until reach 300 degrees celcius in order to keep the soup still warm until the customer finish the ramen. Once it reach 300 degrees celcius, they inserted the noodle,vegs and meat. Love the consistency of the noodle because it's kinda chewy. Once all ready, they will por the soup on it, it can be vegetable broth, curry broth or savory broth (pork or chicken). Finally after they poured into it, it cover with the lid and the hot steam will release on top of it as if like volcanic erruption. Interesting isn't it? Here's our review:

 


 


Kazan Karamiso (80K, Large size)
- From the beginning they served us this menu, it really pampered and amazed my eyes how it work as volcano ramen. All the Kazan ramen served with rice so for heavy eater no need to worry. The broth smell really good, unfortunately the taste still pretty blend even still light. The sliced pork texture really soft and the spices really absorbed very well into the meat. Really enjoy this one even the soup lil bit blend to me.

 


Chicken Kazan Curry (80K)
- For chicken curry lover will say thumbs up for this one. You can see from the photo i took, the chicken really huge and the portion is pretty big deal for 2-3 persons. The broth really thick and the curry taste pretty strong . They served with some vegs like cabbage and corns. The chicken really tender and cooked pretty well with soft texture for it. Really recommended for curry lovers to enjoy ramen with chicken curry broth.

 


Kazan Shio (80K, Large size)
- It's almost the same as Kazan Karamiso we ordered before, but they served with more saltier for the broth (pork broth, of course it's much better lol). It served with 2 big kakuni (sliced pork), really tempting menu for this one. Among 3 kazan ramen we ordered, all of us choose this as the champion because the soup not too thich yet savory plus the kakuni really have soft texture plus the meat really tasty. Can't stop craving on this one! It's a must menu while visit here.

 


Shio Ramen (50K)
- slices kakuni served with nori, corns and boiled egg. Really savory for the soup plus the slices kakuni taste damn good. Recommended for those who want to eat normal ramen.

 


Pork Yaki Gyoza (30k)
- This one really had a lovely filling with juicy meat and perfect seasoning. I'm a big fan for gyoza and this one really win my heart for gyoza. Recommended menu!

 


Pork Soup Gyoza (40K)
- Juicy meat in soup by proper seasoning really looks very tempting, unfortunately the skin for the dumpling still need to be thicker and consistency because while we picked it the skin already peeled off because too thin and the heat of the soup. Still good though smile

 


Matcha Ice Cream (20K)
- The matcha flavor really prominent and can be seen by its dark green color. Soft texture and the matcha taste will pamper your mouth while chew it. Yumm! 1 never enough on this one!

 


Kaguyahime (40K)
- The presentation of the food really looks like "The Tale of the Bamboo Cutter" but the difference is we discovered a dessert served with mochi, red bean, vanilla & matcha ice cream in it instead of a baby. The secret side of this dessert is the inner part, they put some corn flakes in it. It's tremendeously heavenly delicious!

 


Mixed Berries Smoothes (40k)
- Quite refreshing because of the sour taste yet lil bit sweet. Worth to try.

Honestly, this resto really offer you pretty big deal of portion. Suitable to hangout with friends and share it together plus giving you unique ramen eating experience. Thank you for your invitation Mr. Andika. Wish Kazan Ramen all the best!

Craved!

Urban Culinaire
IG: @urban_culinaire
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Shio Ramen,Kazan Shio,Kaguyahime
 
Spending per head: Approximately Rp100000

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 3  |  
Lingkungan
 3  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 4  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Kumpul Keluarga | Pesta

Welcome to Jakarta, Tim Ho Wan! After the long waiting, they also just opened at Malaysia too. Hong Kong's most famous Michelin-star dim sum restaurant has finally arrived at Jakarta, located in Pantai Indah Kapuk. Tim Ho Wan already opened since 28 March 2015. Tim Ho Wan founded and run by the famous Chef Mak Kwai Pui which earned in its first year of operation in Mongkok. In cantonese, Tim Ho Wan means "add good luck", eat more luck more? Lol.

 


At that time the queue not as bad i visited at Singapore or the crazy long queue we can see at Malaysia. Maybe around 15-20 minutes waited at that moment. The size of the restaurant quite big with simple interior design. Wooden furniture and white bricks on skme part of the wall. Homey ambience and suitable for us to enjoy dim sum even more. The service quite bad because when we switch table they didn't put back our food to our new table and they missed some of our order without inform us the food already out of order, understand at that day situation very crowded. Hopefully the service will be better for the next visit.

The menu at Tim Ho Wan Indonesia features their signature "Big 4 Heavenly Kings" like Baked Bun with BBQ Pork, Pan Fried Carrot Cake, Steam Egg Cake & Vermicelli Roll with Pig'a liver but we don't order all of it at that time. Here's our review for the food:

 


 


Baked Bun with BBQ Pork (39K)
- It's their best signature menu, crisp yet fluffy exterior, its inside concealing sweet-savoury BBQ pork. It served only 3 pieces but i gotta admit crispy outside and heaven indside. Recommended one!

 


 


Vermicelli Roll with BBQ Pork (37K)
- The soy sauce poured on the vermicelli roll. The taste very light and soft texture yet aromatic. Enjoyable to eat smile

 


Pan Fried Carrot Cake (32K)
- One of my fav food all of time, soft with a relatively grease rendition. The taste very light and lil bit salty. Thumbs up!

 


Har Kao (38K)
- Shrimp wrapped with ethereally thin and translucent skin. Shrimp well cooked and crunchy while eat it. Yummy!

 


 


Vermicelli Roll with Sweet and Sesame Sauce (29K)
- The vermicelli rolls arrive drizzled with sweet and sesame sauces while the soy sauce is poured on top of it. Tasted good though, lil bit like peanut butter taste. The fragrance very alluring and creaminess really pampered my mouth.

 


Homemade Barley (17K)
- Very light taste yet not to sweet. Really enjoy this drink.

Overall, great place to enjoy dim sum especially with michelin stars resto with good price. The service need to improve more for better service. Will come back for sure especially with family for dim sum in the morning. It's a must go place and recommended!

Thank you for your treats Tim Ho Wan!

Craved!

Urban Culinaire
IG: @urban_culinaire
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Baked Bun with BBQ Pork,Pan Fried Carrot Cake,Vermicelli Roll with Sweet and Sesame Sauce
 
Date of Visit: Mar 28, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp150000

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 4  |  
Pelayanan
 3  |  
Higienis
 4  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Es Krim/Yogurt | Halal

When we talk ice cream, what's really on your mind? Heaven of sweetness in mouth? smile Haagen Dazs is one of my favourite ice cream all time. A lil bit background of it, the founder invented the "Danish-sounding" "Häagen-Dazs" as a tribute to Denmark's exemplary treatment of its Jews during the Second World War. Haagen Dazs established since 1961 and the now all over the world we can easily find Haagen Dazs especially in Jakarta almost all the shopping malls they have Haagen Dazs store such as Gandaria City, Puri Indah Mall, Emporium Pluit, Senayan city and many more.

 


On 21 March 2015, Open Rice organized a huge gathering meetup at Haagen Dazs, Senayan City. The place itself quite spacious, the counter at the center and the did give the customers comfortable seats while enjoying ice cream. The really main point of this event is the the collaboration between Haagen Dazs x Illy. Very interesting collaboration isn't it? It's the unification of premium Haagen Dazs ice cream with lil touch of italian coffee. Great inspiriation! FYI, Illy is an Italian coffee roasting company that specializes on the production of espresso since 1933. Illy very popular with the finest blended arabica coffee. What i really love from Illy is the inspiring quote such " keep your inspiration going". It's really no doubt we will pamper our mouth and eyes even more!

 


On this event we got introduced to Mr. Angga Krisnawan as the Brand Executive of Haagen Dazs and Mr. Arief Budiman from Illy side as national barista trainer & quality controller. I gotta admit he really an expert for coffee. Mr Arief introduced their new drinks as collaboration between Haagen Dazs & Illy by doing some latte art. Before Aathe latte art, he talked about who found the first coffee in the world? It was found by Ethiophia guy named Khalid. Mr Arief explained also the benefit of consuming coffee as daily basis such as prevent cancer, diet, prevent diabet, and lower chance on Parkinson. After the short talk about coffee, he illustrated some latte art and you can see below picture how hectic and enthusiastic foodies for it. All cameras on the drinks. Paparazzi! smile

 


Here's the quick review for all the drinks they introduced at that time.

 


Cookies & Cream Espresso (60K)
- It was made by the combination of cookies, mini scoop of ice cream and double espresso. Not only that, they put some whipping cream and small chocolate written Haagen Dazs and cookie on top. Really tempting presentation! It's lil bit creamy but the coffee taste not too strong, really sutable for those not really into coffee plus it not so sweet. It's a very light drink to enjoy.

 


 


 


Tiramisu Coffee
- Espresso blended with Haagen Dazs tiramisu ice cream, lil bit whip cream, chocolate sowing, chocolate sauce for the latte art and butterfinger cookies as the finishing. Unfortunately this drink only served special for us on that day only. Mr Arief made 2 types: creamy and normal. Tiramisu taste really dominant and not to sweet. Enjoyable.

 


Iced Cafe Latte (26K)
- Mixing of Illy's espresso with frothy milk without any additional sugar. It taste bitter and love the creamy milk. It's really suitable for coffee lover and perfect while we enjoying Haagen Dazs ice cream.

 


Mocha Dreamland (60K)
- Haagen Dazs Belgian chocolate ice cream blended with Illy's espresso with topping coffee jelly, whipping cream, mini chocolate written Haagen Dazs and mini scoops of coffee & belgian chocolate ice cream on top. Thumbs up presentation for this one! Truly delicious and really recommended on this one smile

Brownie Ice Crea

 


 

m ( Caramel & Strawberry)
- As closing they served us brownie ice cream with 2 choices of ice cream : caramel or strawberry ice cream. Soft texture of the brownie and really chocolate for the brownie. The ice cream i prefer the strawberry one because sour and sweet will balance your tounge and appetite while we eat it. Like it!

 


It's been fun day with Haagen Dazs x Illy, we would like to say thank you for welcoming us very well and Open Rice team (Yeni & Viona) for the invitation. Looking foward for the new creation from Haagen Daz x Illy. Good luck!


Craved!

Urban Culinaire
IG: Urban_culinaire
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mocha Dreamland
 
Date of Visit: Mar 21, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp100000

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 4  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 4  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Eastern KopiTM | Urban Culinaire Smile Mar 24, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Kopitiam | Kumpul Keluarga

 


On 14 March 2015, i was invited to my first openrice gathering at Eastern KopiTM, Puri Indah. Before i continue further to review, i would like to say thanks for Openrice team (Yeni & Viona) for the invitation. Eastern KopiTM remind me of any other common kopitiam when i studied at Malaysia. Honestly kopitiam is one of the best place to eat especially having breakfast in the morning.

Eastern KopiTM offering us dim sum, malaysian and indonesian cuisine. Located very strategically at Puri Indah which very easy to find this place. The overall interior just simple and truly kopitiam style which i love it! Eastern KopiTM divided into outdoor and indoor area. When we visited there the indoor area very crowded. Oh yeah, at cashier they also sell variety of snacks and food. Responsive and fast service while we visited here.

Here's my review :

 


Shumai (17K)
- The texture quite flabby and the taste just fine. Not the best but still enjoyable.

 


Hakau (19K)
- Shrimp covered with thin layer and the layer at the perfect thickness. It's so crunchy while chew it, thumbs up! smile

 


Nasi Hainam Bebek Panggang (44K)
- For the rice, taste quite good and the duck meat very tender which the spices absorbed very well. It's quite recommended to try especially for those need big meal.

 


Kwetiau Goreng Seafood (34K)
- Honestly this is my fav food among all. Soft texture for the kwetiau and it served with seafood such as shrimp, squid, fishball and eggs. It tremendously delicious! Yummy!

 


Laksa Singapore (33k)
- It served with noodles, tauge, slices of tofu, beef meat and quail eggs. Love the soup and the thickness just perfect. Remind me of malaysian Laksa.

 


Nasi Goreng Merah (34k)
- From the name itself merah mean 'hot' and yeah it's quite hot yet savory plus there some slices of chicken, fried egg, 'ikan teri' which make even more delicious. Thumbs up~

 


Tahu ala Eastern (28K)
- Love the soft texture of the tofu, while it served with special Eastern sauce including of slices of mushrooms and meat. For sweet food lover should like this and can't stop craving on this one. Must try menu!

 


Shanghai Dumpling (19k)
- Chicken filling and steam shrimp served with spicy sauce. Taste quite good though even the appearance not so good. smile

 


Bakso Ikan Special (23k)
- Big fried fishballs served 3 pcs. Crispy outside but solid texture for the inner part plus it's quite savory and yummy.

 


Roti Bakar Kaya (17K)
- Love the light green color of the kaya and the toast texture not too hard which is good. Overall not too sweet and really enjoyable~ smile

 


Barley (12K)
- My fav drink all time everytime visit kopitiam. It's so refreshing and not to sweet. Like it.


Overall, it's really a great place for such kopitiam with variety of menus and really suit for us as indonesian. Great service plus very responsive. Good place to have good food with family or friends with affordable price.

Craved!

Urban Culinaire
Instagram: @urban_culinaire
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nasi Goreng Merah,Kwetiau Goreng Seafood,Roti Bakar Kaya
 
Date of Visit: Mar 14, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately Rp100000(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 3  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 3  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0