OpenRice Index
  
nahmj
Member 5 First(s)
No. of Review12 Review(s)
編輯推介數目12 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity95 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos112 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant12 My Restaurant(s)
Follow9 Following
粉絲19 Follower(s)
nahmj  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 12 Reviews in Indonesia
Homely Food with Hit And Miss OK Apr 25, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singapura / Malaysia | Restaurant | Halal | Kumpul Keluarga

Original Review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/04/23/mama-malaka-restaurant-south-quarter-jakarta/


One of our weekday lunch while I was on business trip to Jakarta was at Mama Malaka Restaurant At South Quarter. According to the restaurant, Mama Malaka started since 1959. If that's true, it has established itself for quite some years. I like long establishing restaurant, provided that they maintained their standard and quality of food. As such I am keen to check out Mama Malaka Restaurant At South Quarter.
Facade Overview

Facade Overview

 
Space at Mama Malaka Restaurant At South Quarter is nicely decorated to feel like home. It has a wall painting of the pre-war houses that looks like those in Singapore. On this black and white painting, there were lots of Chinese words, as such we were wondering if this is a restaurant opened by an Indonesia Chinese.
Interior

Interior

 
As I started to flip through the thick menu, I was greeted first by the Appetiser section, and then followed by the Ganai (Bread), Seafood, Chicken & Meat, Rice & Noodle, Duck, Vegetables, Dessert and lastly Beverages. The glutton in me is prompting me to order as much as I can but I put on a fight with this temptation.
Roti Tissu

Roti Tissu

 
Among the Ganai (Bread selection), 6 choices available. We went for the Roti Tissu (Rp 35,000) which is as thin as paper roti canai drizzled with condensed milk, sugar and butter. Oh my, it is such a rich bread based on the ingredients it has. This is indicated as a Chef Favourite on the menu.
Seafood Soup

Seafood Soup

 
We ordered a Seafood Soup (Rp 72,500) to go along with our meal. The humble looking dish when served doesn't look appealing. In it were prawns, chicken, egg, squid and salty preserved vegetables. It was rich in seafood flavour, unfortunately, it was way too salty.
Sambal Prawn

Sambal Prawn

 
Sambal Prawn (Rp 75,000) is one of my favourite food when in Singapore. It is best eaten with white rice. I find the one served at Mama Malaka resemble the taste of Singapore Sambal Prawn. It is less spicy and on the sweeter end.
Susu Kacang and Iced Honey Lime

Susu Kacang and Iced Honey Lime

 
Drinks offered at Mama Malaka at South Quarter was not as huge as some other restaurants. There were a total of 11 drinks. We ordered a hot Susu Kacang (Rp 25,000) & a Iced Honey Lime (Rp 32,000).
Martabak Special

Martabak Special

 
Martabak Special (Rp 31,000) is an Indonesia Pancake topped with nutella, chopped peanuts and cheese resulting in a sweet yet savoury dessert. It is similar to our Singapore local Pancake but it's texture is a little different. The best I could describe is that it has a Mochi like texture but denser; soft with just a little chewiness. The Martabak could have a variety of different toppings.
By A Wall

By A Wall

 
Food tasted homely while ambience is casual. In addition, Mama Malaka offers a good selection of food as I likes variety. I enjoyed the food and like the environment, I will return when back to the area.

More reviews on http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 14, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 3  |  
Lingkungan
 4  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 4  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

White Cafe  OK Apr 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Kedai Kopi & Teh | Business Meeting

Original review at http://www.nahmj.com/2016/04/22/mokka-coffee-cabana-cafe-south-quarter-jakarta-indonesia/

Mokka Coffee Cabana Cafe has quite a few cafes spread throughout Jakarta. The one I visited was at South Quarter. Perhaps the most convenient location might be Lippo Mall.

 
Admittedly, I was first inveigled by Mokka Coffee Cabana Cafe design. Though the entire space look white, it has designs such as doodling on the wall and they have smartly used mosaic to create some structure and design instead of leaving it plain white. In short, one might feel the hipster look in it.

 
The working space of the barista is open while the kitchen is closed. Nonetheless, I like the idea of opening up the work space of the barista, as such cafe hoppers like myself could admire the barista in action.
Catpuccino

Catpuccino

 
At Mokka Coffee Cabana Cafe, they offered both the espresso based coffee and hand brewed using single origins coffee too. The cafe offerred 5 single origins (Rp 33,000); Papua, Toraja, Bali, Malabar and Aceh. I tried the Toraja as my first choice Papua weren’t available. The Toraja has a chocolaty flavour but is mainly filled with the citrus note with medium body and medium to high acidity. This is my kind of coffee as I prefer a lower acidity cuppa.
And one to be noted is the Catpuccino (Rp 39,000). This is so instagram-worthy. I couldn’t resist but to order a cup for photo sessions with the Catpuccino.
Hot Chocolate

Hot Chocolate

 
I can’t help but take lots of the Catpuccino at different angles; various side views and top view too.
Other drinks include the Hot Chocolate (Rp 37,500). The Hot Chocolate drink isn’t the most interesting drink since it is melting a bar of Cadbury Chocolate in Hot Milk. The Iced version is also available. There are also a variety of both Iced and Hot Tea, Frappe, Mocktails and Coolers.
Risol

Risol

 
For food, you could find the typical breakfast dishes, Salad, appetisers, snacks, burgers & sandwiches, Asian dishes, Pasta and finally dessert. I certainly wished I could order one dish from each section.

First, we have something local for a start, the Risol (Rp 46,000). I didn’t know what exactly it was when ordering as the menu simply stated it as “An Indonesian Classic Snack perfect for anytime of the day.” When it was served, I savour creamy potato with some diced vegetables and chicken. It was overall slanted towards the sweet palate.
XO Fried Rice

XO Fried Rice

 
XO Fried Rice (Rp 50,000) under the Asian section with 5 other dishes. It was a tasty dish with plentiful of seafood flavour. If Mokka could reduce the generosity of salt, it would have been perfect.
Black Jack Burger

Black Jack Burger

 
Black Jack Burger

Black Jack Burger

 
My colleague recommended me to order its burger and I did it with no regret. I went for the Black Jack Burger (Rp 60,000) since Black is in. The charcoal bun was fluffy and soft with good moisture retained in it. As charcoal as an ingredient would usually suck up the moist. The most laudable about the Black Jack Burger is the beef patty, firmed and yet flavourful with the perfect ratio of seasoning in it too. It would be awesome if the slice of cheese is melting.
Banana Jolie

Banana Jolie

 
Mains with no dessert, that isn’t enjoying life to the fullest. I was eager to try the Banana Cheese; a pity it was sold out. As a substitute, I went for Banana Jolie (Rp 45,000). This is a luxurious goreng pisang with ice cream and chocolate fudge. The presentation is suitable for a cafe.
Bar Counter

Bar Counter

 
Food served at Mokka Coffee Cabana Cafe was delish and NAHMJ likes the ambience too.

More reviews on http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 15, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 3  |  
Lingkungan
 4  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 4  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fame Cafe Hailed From Paris Smile Apr 20, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Roti & Kue

Original review on http://www.nahmj.com/2016/04/23/eric-kayser-artisan-boulanger-jakarta-at-gandaria-city-jakarta-indonesia

I was excited to spot Eric Kayser Artisan Boulanger Jakarta At Gandaria City when I arrived on my first day at Jakarta but I soon forgot about it. I like the pastries, bread and cakes baked by Eric Kayser. Though I have yet tried their mains and other food whipped from the kitchen.
Facade

Facade

 
Till the last day of my trip, as I was about to leave for airport to catch my flight in the afternoon, I took the chance to have lunch at Eric Kayser.
View of Interior

View of Interior

 
Eric Kayser Artisan Boulanger Jakarta At Gandaria City occupies a centre area. It has comfy cushy chairs and some classic Parisan looking ones too. The ceilings were hung with greens making the cafe looking lushy.
Pastries and Bread Display Counter

Pastries and Bread Display Counter

 
Cakes on Display

Cakes on Display

 
Available Macarons

Available Macarons

 
Cakes, pastries and bread were neatly displayed at the counters for consumers ease of selection.
Lobster Roll

Lobster Roll

 
When I opened the menu, very quickly I spotted the Lobster Roll (Rp 128,000). Without any hesitation, I ordered this as my Mains for lunch. Serving was huge for me. But I am sure it is reasonable for most. Good amount of lobsters chunk with creamy corns were stuffed into the bread roll and finishes with alfalfa sprouts. By the side are a green salad and large portions of fries.
Brulee Pistachio Tart

Brulee Pistachio Tart

 
Top View of Brulee Pistachio Tart

Top View of Brulee Pistachio Tart

 
I selected the Brulee Pistachio Tart (Rp 45,000) for my desserts. Strangely, at Eric Kayser Artisan Boulanger Jakarta At Gandaria City they served me the dessert first which I was expecting it last. Not a bad choice for me anyway, since I don't mind having it as my first course.

The Brulee Pistachio Tart has sufficient nutty pistachio scent with buttery tart based. As I am writing, I am craving for this tart. My only negative feedback about the tart were that the raspberries were too sour.
Cappuccino

Cappuccino

 
Cappuccino (Rp 40,000) is accompanied with a Madeleine. The cuppa suits my tastebud perfectly. It is low in acidity, full body with nutty note.

Not only the pastries, cakes and bread are excellent. It's Main, at least the Lobster Roll was delish and filling. Service though wasn't attentive, still above average. NAHMJ will return to Eric Kayser Artisan Boulanger Jakarta At Gandaria City to try out more food when returned to Jakarta.

More reviews on http://www.nahmj.com/

 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 16, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 5  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 4  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Candle light Indian Dinner Smile Apr 19, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Lounge/Bar | Wine | Kencan / Berpasangan | Pesta

Original review on http://www.nahmj.com/2016/04/20/face-jakarta-bar-restaurant-hazara-menteng-indonesia

The Face Jakarta consists of 2 restaurants; Hazara the Indian restaurant and Lana Thai the Thai Restaurant and a bar, the Face Bar. We went for the Hazara, the Indian Restaurant. It was recommended by an Indian colleague whom have patronised them previously and found it to be good. At Hazara, it was relatively dark and it is very much like having a candle light dinner since candle were lit at every table. I never like such ambience as firstly it is bad for my photo taking of food. And secondly, I couldn't see well in low light environment.

On Hazara menu, there were 3 sections. First was the others, with Rice, Soup, Appetiser and Roti. Next was the Handi which are mainly the curry or gravy dishes. Lastly was the Tandoori where mainly meat and vegetables were cooked in clay oven.
Mango Lassi

Mango Lassi

 
Mango Lassi (Rp 35,000) is one of the usual turn to drink whenever I am at an Indian restaurant. This round, likewise, no exception. The Mango Lassi was lightly sweet and lightly sourish which was good to along with the meal.
Plain Poppadom

Plain Poppadom

 
First, we went for the Plain Poppadom. This isn't stated on the menu instead you will only find the Papperdam Masala. If you prefer the plain one, you need to ask for it.
Mango and Mint Chutney

Mango and Mint Chutney

 
The Plain Poppadom was served with the Mint Chutney but we asked for the Mango Chutney as well. Personally, I prefer the Mint Sauce as it was more savoury while the Mango Chutney tasted like a Mango Jam to me.
Keema Samosa

Keema Samosa

 
Our second appetiser was the Keema Samosa (Rp 80,000). I was told this is a rare find on the menu, as most restaurants don't served it with minced lamb and spice filling. For those who doesn't like lamb, I am sure will prefer avoiding this. Personally, I was rather neutral to it not that it isn't tasty. In fact, I do admit that it was flavourful but somehow I find something lacking in the samosa and I couldn't nail it. But 2 other diners enjoyed it. As such, this is very much a preference, I supposed.
Saffron Pullao

Saffron Pullao

 
Saffron Pullao (Rp 45,000) was the last staple we ordered. It is a saffron infused rice dish. It has a nice scent of saffron and it went well with the curry we ordered.
Pudina Parontha

Pudina Parontha

 
The Tandoori Roti (Rp 25,000) is similar to the Pudina Parontha (Rp 35,000), except that the latter has chopped mint scattered over the bread. I prefer the former.
Tandoori Roti

Tandoori Roti

 
Naan is the bread that most of us will order when we are at an Indian restaurant. It needs no introduction. This round we ordered only the Makhni Naan (Rp 26,000), that's butter naan. There are a few other options.
Makhni Naan & Roomali Roti

Makhni Naan & Roomali Roti

 
In the same basket was the Roomali Roti (Rp 28,000). I am new to this bread. I was told this is the thin form of bread. But it gets dry when it was place in the air-conditioned room for a period of time.
Gosht Khorma

Gosht Khorma

 
The curry that I enjoyed most among the few we ordered was the Gosht Khorma (Rp 135,000). This is a lamb curry with cashew nut and tomato. As such this make it another tomato based dish. But at the very least, the spice was rich enough to mask most of the tomato flavour.
Bengan Matter

Bengan Matter

 
For those who need more vegetables, Bengan Matter (Rp 80,000) is one great choice. This is a curry of eggplant and green peas, very much in tomato based. If all these were your favourite ingredients, this is made for you. I am not a tomato based sauce fan as such, again, I am neutral.
Mahi Khaliya

Mahi Khaliya

 
Next is the Mahi Khaliya (Rp 160,000), which all of us enjoyed. This is a fish curry cooked in mustard oil with fenugreek seeds. If I remembered correctly, I was told cooking curry with mustard oil is a characteristics of Kolkata curry dishes.
Loki Raita

Loki Raita

 
First was the Loki Raita (Rp 30,000). This dish consist of yogurt with small dices of white pumpkin. The taste of the pumpkin is similar to the honeydew except that it was very lightly sweetened. This make a good alternative to the curry and tomato based gravy.

Looks like I enjoyed more of the meat curry than the vegetable based one. Perhaps it was the meat flavour that contributed to the curry that I find them tastier.
The dishes served at Face Jakartat Bar and Restaurant, Hazara, isn't the most top notch but certainly above average.

For more reviews, visit http://www.nahmj.com/
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 15, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 4  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 4  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Homely Indonesian Fare Smile Apr 18, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Betawi | Restaurant | Halal | Kumpul Keluarga

Original Review on http://www.nahmj.com/2016/04/18/kafe-betawi-at-gandaria-city-jakarta-indonesia

Kafe Betawi At Gandaria City is one of the many restaurant found at this mega mall. Betawi literally means Native Jakartan. Kafe Betawi has almost 30 outlets scattered throughout Jakarta. Kafe Betawi at Gandaria City is located at the second level of the Main Street where the restaurants congregate.
Side

Side

 
At Kafe Betawi, the menu offers variety of Jakartan culinary delights. Dishes such as Nasi Goreng & Sate (Fried Rice and Satay), Soto (Soup), Nasi (Rice), Mie (Noodles), Ulekan, Gorengan (Fried food), Kerupuk (Crackers), Jajanan (other food), Drinks and Juice.
A view of interior

A view of interior

 
The ambience is very much homely. I felt the theme of the restaurant was the Indonesian traditional house.
Es Teler

Es Teler

 
Es Teler (Rp 30,000) isn't a dessert though we will have the shaved ice as dessert in Singapore. Apparently, it was known as Cold Drinks on most of the Indonesian menu. I was surprised though I welcome the idea as I like started my meal with sweet stuff. Es Teler is shaved ice with Avocado, Coconut, Jackfruit and Condensed Milk. Though it is with condensed milk, yet it is relatively lightly sweetened. We enjoyed the Es Teler very much.
Satae Kambing

Satae Kambing

 
This round I ordered a Mutton satay, the Satae Kambing (Rp 75,000). The sweet marinate penetrated right into all part of the meat and it has a nice char fragrance. Personally, I find the meat too tough to chew on.
Soto Betawi

Soto Betawi

 
Soto Betawi (Rp 50,000) was the second Main we ordered for sharing. The description on the menu was traditional Betawi style soup in coconut milk. The description was appealing and we ordered to try. The soup has a meaty flavour and lightly sweetened with coconut aroma. It isn't spicy at all. In it were boiled egg, shredded chicken and potato. We like it.
Nasi Uduk Rendang

Nasi Uduk Rendang

 
We ordered 2 Mains for sharing. Both the portion was relatviely small. Our first Main was the Nasi Uduk Rendang (Rp 51,000). It consist of rice cooked in coconut milk and chicken broth and some spice and fried mee hoon served with stew beef in lots of different spice and handful of bitter nut cracker. The chilli that was served with this plate was sweet.

 
Before ordering the Kue Rangi (Rp 28,000), I was clueless about what it was. The menu mentioned it was their famous dessert made of sago and coconut. I thought it was enticing. This dessert is a little hard on the outer with a chewy inner. It was almost bland but the coconut sweet syrup that was served was the saving gracec, together with the jackfruit bites on the top, sweetened the dessert. I was neutral to it. I can't say I like it.
A view of Interior

A view of Interior

 
Kafe Betawi at Gandaria City serves humble homely food with a causual ambience. It is certainly a great place for a fast and casual meal.

More reviews on http://www.nahmj.com/

 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 14, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Rasa
 4  |  
Lingkungan
 4  |  
Pelayanan
 4  |  
Higienis
 4  |  
Sesuai dengan harga
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0